Reviews

8.2
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.5
Comfort
8.3
Property location
8.1
Facilities
8.2
Staff
8.6
Value
7.4

Reviews

    Lia Marcela
    nl

    Review score

    8.8
    18 September 2018

    Good but expected more

    The photos online show such a beautiful onsen. However its standard, nothing special and if there is no good weather and u can not see the Fuji is not worth it
    Staff is very friendly Location is ideal to take the ropeway (cablecar) and it is also not far from the bus stop ( 5 min walk) The bed was super comfortable and for Japan the suze of the bedroom is bigger than average Absolutely beautiful chapel to get married
    Snow See
    my

    Review score

    8.8
    18 September 2018

    Good hotel in Hakone

    The staff are hardworking but not so friendly. The water machine in the onsen area is empty and the hotel should make sure the drinking water is available until the onsen closure time (12am). The carpet in the room is old and got odour smell.
    The buffet breakfast and dinner are very good. The onsen is fantastic and the hotel is very near to the cable car station.
    Chia Yu
    tw

    Review score

    7.1
    17 September 2018
    Great meal! We like it!
    Pedro Marinho
    br

    Review score

    9.6
    31 July 2018

    Great hotel to enjoy an onsen, see Fuji and have great meals

    Some parts of the room need to be renovated.
    Excellent meals, good staff, really comfortable futon, nice view of Fuji, really nice onsen.
    Erik
    hu

    Review score

    8.3
    27 July 2018

    modern facility with good location

    bed too soft, I missed a sauna or steam bath from the spa
    clean rooms, modern design, good location
    Niharika
    sg

    Review score

    8.3
    26 July 2018

    A serene, beautiful, and well looked after property which leaves you feeling peaceful.

    Would have appreciated clearer directions to get to the hotel - felt that was unclear. Beautiful but random, through-the-forest walk from Ubaku ropeway station to the property - Very unwieldy path with luggage. Difficult if you have a lot of stuff or with children. No control over the air conditioning left us feeling hot in the room in parts.
    Large, clean, and self sufficient property. Well organized despite having a big crowd. Check-in was swift. A beautiful, calming view of Mount Fuji from the Central Garden. In itself the garden was well kept with some beautiful flowers and greenery. The dinners and lunches were wholesome with all kinds of food. The sauna, onsen, bathing areas were clean and well maintained. Basic massage tools for you feet and back were available at no cost. Rooms were sufficient and comfortable but in such a place you rarely spend time indoors. Yukatas were provided for everyone in all sizes and most of the hotel was roaming around in them! Staff was good (not exceptional) but it got the job done. Close to every other sight there is to see in Hakone - bang in the middle of Lake Ashi and Owakudani volcanic springs. It's perfect!
    Karen
    au

    Review score

    9.2
    23 July 2018

    Beautiful Onsen and great hotel but out of the way

    Slightly difficult to get to.
    A little out of the way but worth it once we arrived. Unfortunately Mt Fuji covered by cloud. Rooms were lovely. Included dinner and breakfast great with heaps of choice at buffet. The Onsen was the highlight for us.
    VISHAL
    gb

    Review score

    5.8
    15 July 2018

    An idyllic location for Mount Fuji views for a steep price !

    Dinner area was more like a school canteen with Regimented times ; the area felt like dorm living The hotel is remote and offers no shuttle to areas such as Gora or yumato or odakwara Taxis are eye wateringly steep The hotel offers one small shuttle to some local museums which too needs pre- booking Paying £420 pounds per night for a triple Japanese room ( with Fuji view) felt like a rip off ; the hotel is overpriced and overrated !
    Mount Fuji facing room was a bonus with uninterrupted views of the elusive peak albeit at a premium price The Onsen was relaxing , again with unrivalled views of Fuji
    Dirk Hamelinck
    be

    Review score

    3.8
    12 July 2018

    premium hotel @ bad quality for cost ... stay out of there !

    1) bathroom : was like a ferry-boot or camper bathroom, fully in plastic + old 2) restaurant : feels like a school refectory, 2 shifts - very noise - take food away 20' before closing, fish not fresh (glad we did not get food poisoning) 3) no facilities for after dinner : no bar, nothing in neighbourhood => so go to bed early :-) 4) dinner was included in our reservation with booking.com, but not allowed to eat at the Japanese resto 5) infrastructure needs full refurbishment (concept & setting probably dates from 70's) 6) garden : nice photo's on the website, but in reality it would need a lot of gardening for it to match to photo's 7) personnel : at the desk not polite at all , at the resto they were OK
    Nothing related to our stay a the hotel. As the 2 days when we were staying were rather bad weather (clouds+rain). We were hoping the hotel would give us sufficient comfort to relax and enjoy. But that turned out to be a big planning mistake ! Although paying a premium cost (350 Euro per night including dinner - significantly more then @ New Otani Tokyo) but what a different experience : nothing to do here ! Surprisingly we could also not visit the Vulcano site on the mountain (close as consequence of eruption 2015) ... the hotel personnel had even not mentioned this when we registered, we had to find out on the spot after taking the ropeway to the location ! Unfortunately, only our visit to Pola Museum and the Hakona Tozan train ride were the 2 positive memory's we will keep from our Hakone stay.
    Hoi Yin
    hk

    Review score

    7.9
    12 July 2018
    public bath is a bit small and front desk staff are not cheerful enough
    Delicious breakfast and dinner.
    Joanne
    au

    Review score

    5.8
    8 July 2018

    Hotel needs to meet the standard of the staff. Out of date and needs a facelift.

    Bathrooms, bed and linen all need replacing.
    Staff were great. The hotel was hard to get to and more so as it was raining and the buses rope way and cablecar were suspended. An expensive taxi was our only option. The hotel offered no help even though they have a bus Food was plentiful but not hot, and lighting was too harsh for dining. This hotel is expensive but needs an upgrade to justify the price.
    Yannick
    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    6 July 2018
    Peaceful and super relaxing. It is a must go to if you’re looking to break up your trip around japan with a relaxing stay or you just want to go somewhere a lot more tranquil
    judith
    au

    Review score

    7.5
    27 June 2018

    Great location. Very peaceful and lots of different walks to do around the area

    The area is lovely a bit of the beaten track but worthwhile. The view of Mount Fuji was what we went for and the hotel food was great
    Mike Cheng
    tw

    Review score

    9.6
    21 June 2018
    It's soso of the spring.
    It's the excellent hotel, because of the service, dinner, and room are very good. Unfortunately, the weather was raining and the ropeway was stopping, but the hotel provided the deliver service for us to Togendai to get the sightseeing cruise, thanks.
    cn

    Review score

    7.9
    18 June 2018
    The transportation is not convenient. The hotel wasn't good communication with booking.com. I ordered the room which include the dinner, but didn't tell me buffet or Janpanese food. When I arrived the hotel, the reception told us the Janpannese food need reserve three days in advance.
    quiet, have a nice garden. Japanese dinner is well. There have pianist play in the lobby after diiner.
    Gilbert
    us

    Review score

    7.5
    21 September 2018

    Very nice place for Onsen but make sure you buy the unlimited pass in advance. Otherwise you will be

    Hotel emphasised so much that Mt Fuji can be seen. Didn’t see a thing. Hotel shouldd provide limited shuttle service to the main Ropeway station Togendai. That’s where the main bus station is . It’s just 5 mins from the hotel.
    Very nice hotel with awesome buffets included.
    Wenting
    ca

    Review score

    7.5
    16 September 2018
    Good place to enjoy Hakone spring
    Ya-Fei
    ca

    Review score

    7.5
    17 August 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Paul
    us

    Review score

    10
    18 July 2018
    A lovely property high in the mountains around Hakone. Great onsen. Lovely dinner and breakfast. Great staff.
    Patricia
    de

    Review score

    5.0
    9 July 2018

    Hotel needs urgently renovation, no worth the money

    Hotel needs URGENTLY a renovation. The hotel is not worth the money. Really old premises in need of renovation, old mattress and pillows. If you don't have your own car not easy to get to the hotel, specially when the rope is not working at all (rope works only from 9 to 5 and will be suspended if there is bad weather).
Loading reviews